Candidates for Major League Honors Announced

The Baseball Writers' Association of America has revealed lists of candidates for this year's MVP, Rookie, Cy Young and Manager awards.

From the National League, Kenta Maeda and Corey Seager of the Los Angeles Dodgers, and Trea Turner of the Washington Nationals were selected as candidates for Rookie of the Year.

Among American League players, Michael Fulmer of the Detroit Tigers, Tyler Naquin of the Cleveland Indians and Gary Sanchez of the New York Yankees are the candidates for the honor.

None of the Korean players Oh Seung-hwan, Kim Hyun-soo and Lee Dae-ho, has made the list, despite their impressive performances in their first year in the Major League.

Among Korean Major Leaguers, Kang Jung-ho of the Pittsburgh Pirates ranked third in a vote to select Rookie of the Year on the National League last year. In 2013, Ryu Hyun-jin of the Los Angeles Dodgers came in fourth.

If selected as this year's rookie, Kenta would become the fourth Japanese player to claim the honor, following Hideo Nomo in 1995, Kazuhiro Sasaki in 2000 and Ichiro Suzuki in 2001.

The Rookie of the Year will be announced on November 15th and Manager of the Year on the 16th. The winner of the Cy Young Award will be revealed on November 17th, followed by MVP of the Year the next day.

Source: KBS World Radio