Residents To Be Evacuated After Oil Refinery Tank Caught Fire In Central Java

An oil refinery tank, in Indonesia’s Central Java province, caught fire last night, and residents living around the facility would be evacuated, as firefighters were battling the blaze, the country’s state oil and gas firm PT Pertamina said.

The company ensured in a statement that, the supplies of oil and liquefied petroleum gas for buyers were not disrupted by the accident.

The fire broke out at an oil refinery tank in Cilacap district, at about 7:20 p.m. Jakarta time, (1220 GMT), the statement said.

Earlier the company’s spokesman, Ifki Sukarya, said, the fire started at about 7:30 p.m. Jakarta time (1230 GMT).

“The efforts to extinguish the fire are intensively being carried out, using high capacity foam, monitors at the burned tank, and for the tanks located around it, water sprinkles are being used to cool them, in a bid to prevent further spread of the fire,” the statement said.

“Residents living around the fire site will be evacuated to safer grounds,” it said.

The Cilacap refinery is one of PT Pertamina’s six refineries. The refinery comprises 200 tanks for crude to be processed, as well as, oil and gas from crude oil processing.

Source: NAM NEWS NETWORK