Turkmenistan voices the principle of setting up the Upper Chamber of the National Council

The session of the Constitution Commission of Turkmenistan is underway in Ashgabat to make amendments into the Constitution due to the introduction of the two-chamber Parliament, which will be renamed into the National Council.

The news outlet TDH reports that the Upper Chamber, the Khalk Maslakhaty will be comprised of 56 members, 8 from each velayat and from the capital. It should be emphasized that Turkmenistan consists of 5 velayats (provinces) and Ashgabat as a separately governed area, which amounts to a total of 48 members. They will be elected by secret ballot at the regional session of People's Councils.

Eight more persons will be appointed by the President and selected from residents with an extensive life experience, who enjoy credibility and have considerable accomplishments in public life and community service.

The Upper Chamber Parliament members can be elected for a five-year term if they have reached the age of 30years old. To be qualified to become a member those running for office must hold a University degree and have been a resident of Turkmenistan for the past 10 years.

The Majlis members, whose number remains the same (125 members), will be still elected for a term of 5 years.

It will be forbidden to simultaneously occupy the posts in both the Upper and Lower Chamber of the National Council.

Source: Chronicles of Turkmenistan