US Secretary of State attributed Turkmenistan to violators of religious freedom

US State Department website published a statement by Secretary of State Michael Pompeo , which lists countries violating religious freedom.

On November 28, 2018, I referred Myanmar, Iran, China, the DPRK, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Eritrea to the category of countries of particular concern under the International Religious Freedom Act 1998, the statement read .

There are too many regions in the world where people face persecution, arrest and even murder for their religious beliefs. The United States will not stand aside and observe such harassment, Pompeo said.

The report notes that the protection of the human right to freedom of religion is one of the priorities of the US presidential administration’s international policy.

In July, the Secretary of State held a first-of-its-kind meeting on religious freedom, in which 85 countries and 400 representatives of civil society took part, discussing problems and proposing a number of decisive measures to protect religious freedom.

The United States welcomes the efforts of a number of countries to improve their work in the field of religious freedom and are ready for further joint work with national governments, representatives of civil society and religious leaders.

Source: Chronicles of Turkmenistan